Tungtide

24 Hours

Posted by tungtide on August 27, 2008, 9:03 am

In only a meager twenty-four hours I will be beginning an exam that will determine my future in graduate school. The oral qualifying exam is the last hurdle before I achieve Candidacy for my doctorate. All I need to be able to do is convince five well-informed, expert faculty members that I know enough about my chosen field and area or research to continue to stay at the institution. Easy, right? I’ve spent months preparing and more than a month in intensive study and rehersal/practice.

After this is all said and done I will be doing two things (aside from the celebratory use of alcohol): taking a much needed vacation and updating this blog on a more frequent basis. As I said at the beginning of the month, August was going to be light on updates.

4 Responses to “24 Hours”

  1. Janelle said

    I can’t believe you updated Facebook before your blog. I’m still waiting for the grueling story.

  2. tungtide said

    Updating Facebook was easy and took all of 15 seconds. I was utterly exhausted and have spent much of the day asleep since finishing (and passing) my exam. I’ll update with a full account tomorrow.

  3. Janelle said

    Uh huh…excuses excuses.

  4. tungtide said

    Yes, I am good at those. New post is up.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
