Tungtide

By Association

Posted by tungtide on July 26, 2008, 9:24 pm

Update: With a little additional research I found that Benjamin may have been present in the church with Webster when the eucharist was originally taken. I haven’t been able to confirm that. It would explain why he’s being targeted but provides no justification for the actions taken against him.

I really, really, really wanted to be done posting about Eucharist-related topics. I think it’s been done to death. This, however, had made me more angry than anything else associated with the series of events.

I know Catholics like to lay the guilt on heavily (I know, I used to be one) but Benjamin Collard is finding his academic future in jeopardy (not College Jeopardy!) because of his friendship with Webster Cook. Webster is the one responsible for the whole “stealing” incident in Florida that began the series of events. Benjamin is a friend and had nothing to do with the Eicharist in any way.

“I never spoke to a university official, I never lied about who I was,” Collard added. “I never engaged in any disruptive conduct.  I just think this is absolutely disgusting that they’re going after me.”

and

“Just being associated with this can affect my future,” Collard said. “I had nothing to do with this.”

He’s been locked out of his student account and faces potential expulsion from the university. The theft of the Eucharist should have been a non-event in the first place. A small number of individuals have blow it out of proportion and decided to launch an assult against the student responsible and a friend who is not responsible. Webster returned the Eucharist long ago and never intended to do anything Myers-like with it in the first place. Why can’t this just be over?

One Response to “By Association”

  1. Hmmm. Agreed. I too was outraged at the amount of foul play that seems to ooze from the Catholic League.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
