Tungtide

IT Humor

Posted by tungtide on June 28, 2008, 1:39 pm

Just because I’m a big geek and have often thought about doing q few of these, I’m linking to Skippy’s List of 42 Things I’m No Longer Allowed to do in I.T. A few of my favorites are below.

Not allowed to randomly rickroll users upon login to the application.
Lolspeak is not appropriate for error messages.
Not allowed to use Star Wars references when naming new applications/modules; it makes Legal nervous.
If something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that doing it will get me an invite to the HR Director’s office.
Not allowed to continue to explain to users what an ID10T error is.
Not allowed to put up “Happy Birthday” fliers for non-existent employees.
“If it was in your ass you’d know,” is never an acceptable answer.
Not allowed to execute a DoS attack on the network admin’s PC.
Not allowed to hide all but the decaf coffee.
Not allowed to name applications/modules/procedures in such a way that their acronyms would be sexually suggestive (Data In, Logical Data Out).

I don’t work in IT but suddenly I feel like quitting grad school just to sign up. Granted, I can do any of these as long as I have access to the network and administrator access.

3 Responses to “IT Humor”

  1. tungtide said

    I forgot to add one of my own favorites: taking a screenshot of the desktop, setting it as the wallpaper and then hiding all the real icons.

  2. IT Humor said

    […] Yahoo! Buzz Log wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptJust because I’m a big geek and have often thought about doing q few of these, I’m linking to Skippy’s List of 42 Things I’m No Longer Allowed to do in I.T. A few of my favorites are below. Not allowed to randomly rickroll users upon login to the application. Lolspeak is not appropriate for error messages. Not allowed to use Star Wars references when naming new applications/modules; it makes Legal nervous. If something makes me giggle for longer than 15 seconds, I am to assume that doing it will get me an invite to the HR Director’s office. Not allowed to continue to explain to users what an ID10T error is. Not allowed to put up “Happy Birthday” fliers for non-existent employees. “If it was in your ass you’d know,” is never an acceptable answer. Not allowed to execute a DoS attack on the network admin’s PC. Not allowed to hide all but the decaf coffee. Not allowed to […] […]

  3. tungtide said

    It’s an odd trackback above, but appears to be a legitimate site, so I’ve let it through.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
