Tungtide

Genomic Mutation and Playing Cards

Posted by tungtide on June 25, 2008, 2:18 pm

I’ve been pondering how to write about mutation and evolution for a little while now, knowing that I would need a good example before I could branch off into more details about genomics and molecular biology. My usual scientific musings are still going to remain over at Scientician but since that’s Q&A format I’ll throw in some science over here as well.

P.Z. Myers at Pharyngula has posted a blog on Synteny (conservation of chromosomal sequences among species) and uses excellent examples with hands of cards. He plans to continue on the topic of genomics in a future post but lays an excellent groundwork even for those non-scientifically minded people.

My plan then, is to recommend that my reader (readers?) will follow the link and brush up on the subject. I’ll be using it as a starting point for my own discussion of evolutionary science.

2 Responses to “Genomic Mutation and Playing Cards”

  1. Janelle said

    Blog homework!?!

  2. tungtide said

    Well, only if you really want to. I’ll cover some of the same topics again in my own posts but I thought that the explanation at Pharyngula was rather effective.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
