Tungtide

Photo ID

Posted by tungtide on June 17, 2008, 1:42 pm

I am required by the department at my school to have an official ID badge. I had my picture taken and submitted my approval through the online system. The result was this message:

Thank you for submitting the application for a [department ID] card. Your information is being your forwarded to [person] for verification. Once verified and processed, you will be notified as to the location where you may pick up the card. Please remember to bring a pictured ID card so we may ensure your card is being delivered to you only. (emphasis mine, spelling copied directly from website)

Why do I need a picture ID to pick up a picture ID? I’m pretty sure that my face should match the ID you’re handing me.

3 Responses to “Photo ID”

  1. Janelle said

    Well naturally it is easy to look like one picture, but two…that’s nearly impossible. Personally I require a face-forward and a profile picture, and ear lobes must be present in both pictures or the deal is off.

  2. tungtide said

    That might make credit card purchases a little more difficult. Have you been running into people that look different face-first as opposed to in profile? I’d be concerned about those crazy two-dimensional life forms, maybe, but I haven’t seen them reach human size quite yet

  3. Janelle said

    Yes, that has occurred, thus the requirement of both pictures. It is easy to claim to be the same face-forward person. You just comment that you lost or gained a lot of weight, or that you cut or grew your hair. A profile picture, however, is much harder to fake. Plastic surgery records help.
    The two-dimensional life forms are harder to identify in pictures, but luckily you can just hold them up to the light and look for the validation watermark.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
