Tungtide

Why Won’t My Lime Scan?

Posted by tungtide on June 11, 2008, 8:59 pm

I couldn’t help busting out laughing when I read this. Some flavors of stupidity are priceless

Update (6/12/08): I did notice today, for the first time, that a nectarine I was eating did have a barcode on the sticker. It was small and circular but could certainly be used to scan a piece of fruit. Presumably, it would need to be weighed (unless sold by the individual piece) following the scan. Still, the person might just have been ahead of the times.

3 Responses to “Why Won’t My Lime Scan?”

  1. lucienlachance said

    Wow, that’s great.

    That really sheds doubt on the future of humanity….

    I have an aunt, she’s very set in her ways. She told me as we walked out the door, “Don’t set the deadbolt, Dolly, or we won’t be able to get back in!”

    “Auntie…you can’t set the deadbolt unless you’re inside….”

    “What do you mean?”

    I had to show her. And she does things like that ALL of the time. And to top it off half the time she doesn’t believe me. If you can’t show it to her, then she thinks you’re lying.

  2. Janelle said

    Painful. I feel less than intelligent quite frequently and it’s stories like those that concern me. If I’m one of the smarter people in the world….yikes!

  3. tungtide said

    Lucienlachance – (excellent use of an Oblivion character name, by the way)

    I don’t know how much time I wasted on that site yesterday but I couldn’t go without linking something to share. Your aunt is certainly set in her ways, but she’s at least got the mindset of a skeptic in that she needs to be shown everything before believing it. Not the most useful skill in getting along with others though.

    I have a family member who would likely be unable to deal with “scanning” a lime at a self-checkout, but would never be caught dead doing work that “those other people” are supposed to take care of.

    Janelle –
    I’d look at it this way: I may be one of the smart people in the world (but would never believe it), but I can at least avoid this level of stupidity. I’d like to think that I have a stunningly original flavor of stupidity that transcends this plebeian stupidity.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
